Govt Policy

Karnataka to be Aadhar-Enabled by Nov 2013

Views: 2.7K

Come November 2013, barring seven districts covered under the National Population Register (NPR) project, rest of Karnataka will be ‘Aadhar’ enabled. Aadhaar is a 12-digit individual identification number issued by the Unique Identification Authority of India (UIDAI). The seven districts where NPR project is being executed are Gadag, Uttara Kannada, Haveri, Udupi, Davangere, Bangalore Rural and Chikkaballapura.

In the first phase Centre for E-Governance of the state government, one of the registrars for Aadhar project of UIDAI collected bio-metric data and know your customer (KYC) details from an estimated 1.40-crore people in 21 districts of the state, including Mysore and Tumkur where the project was rolled off on a pilot basis. This phase started in October 2011 and was stopped in February 2012. The second phase is expected to start mid November.
A spokesperson for the Centre for E-Governance told that tenders for the second phase of the project has been finalised and an empowered committee on Aadhar is expected to meet shortly to take a call on rolling out phase II. “Given that successful bidders need to be trained, the Centre hopes to start this phase by mid-November at the latest,” the spokesperson said, adding the process of completing the second phase could take at least one year.

In the first phase, the Centre covered 23% of Karnataka’s population in 21 districts, including around 98% of population in Mysore and Tumkur respectively. In Dakshina Kannada, a total of 1,07,736 people in four taluks barring Sullia were covered under Aadhar enumeration with help of 17 stations deployed for the purpose from September 12, 2011 to February 2, 2012. The Commissioner for Census is in-charge of NPR districts, the spokesperson said.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video

Eletsonline News
Eletsonline News

Latest News

To Top