egov 5 Policy Makers

The formation of public governance system is largely dependant on its contextual parameters incuding policy patterns and technology trends. But the nature of governance changes depends on the people leading the implementation of change missions and converting contextual thoughts to contextual phenomenons.The egov 5 policymakers have been identified as people adding to significant contextual phenomenon in egovernance policies.

N Vittal

In laying the foundation for an IT savvy India, N Vittal has a tremendous role to play. An IAS officer from the 1960 batch, he has held several significant posts in the Government. He has initiated policies that boosted the software industry in a way that led to setting up of software technology parks across India. He was the Chairman of the Telecom Commission through which he initiated the process of liberalisation in the telecom sector and played a major role in getting the National Telecom Policy 1994 approved and announced.

Narasimaiah Seshagiri

Narasimaiah Seshagiri is one of the better known technocrats of India’s ICT journey. He has held several important positions in the Indian government and shaped many policies and acts. He was the Director of Information, Planning and Analysis Group of the Electronics Commission in 1971. In this capacity, he founded National Informatics Centre (NIC) in 1975 and was its Director General till year 2000. NICNET (the first VSAT Network outside US with over 1,200 VSATs) and ERNET are his brain child which was implemented successfully under his guidance. He was the key person who drafted the first liberalised Computer Hardware Policy of India in 1984.

R Chandrashekhar

The real mastermind behind the NeGP is R Chandrashekhar. An IAS officer of the 1975 batch, he has held several key positions in the states as well as the central government. He founded the Department of Information Technology under the Ministry of Communications and IT, Government of India. The comprehensive IT plan formulated by him for Andhra Pradesh was clearly regarded as path breaking and catapulted the state to the forefront of IT development in India. Further to that he has been a key resource person with vast experience in the field of IT in conceptualisation, formulation and implementation of NeGP.

J Satyanarayana

J Satyanarayana is the former Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of National Institute for Smart Government (NISG), Hyderabad and is currently the Principal Secretary of Health, Medical Education and Family Welfare Department, Government of Andhra Pradesh. In the journey of India’s march towards e-Governance, he has been part of many of the key initiatives and projects. He has implemented popular projects like e-Seva, Computer-Aided Administration of Registration Department (CARD), e-Procurement, and APOnline. Satyanarayana has been associated with developing some of the flagship e-Governance projects, such as MCA21, BangaloreOne, e-Procurement for the States of Karnataka and Chattisgarh etc.

Rajeev Chawla

Rajeev Chawla, the Commissioner,  Survey Settlement and Land Records, Government of Karnataka is the man behind Bhoomi. Project Bhoomi led to the computerisation of 20 million records of land ownership of 6.7 million farmers in the state. Bhoomi is considered one of the most successful e-Governance  implementations in the country. This project has helped immensly in reducing corruption in land record access and property regsitration system in Karnataka.