Former UP Chief Secretary Anup Chandra Pandey becomes Election Commissioner

Anup Chandra Pandey

The President of India Ram Nath Kovind appointed Anup Chandra Pandey as Election Commissioner on June 8. Pandey, a retired IAS officer of 1984-Batch, has been appointed to the position left vacant by former Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora’s retirement on April 12.

Pandey’s appointment restored the three-member commission to its full strength. The commission will oversee the next set of crucial assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Goa, Manipur and Uttarakhand next year. The three-member top executive panel of the Election Commission of India includes – Chief Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra, Election Commissioners Rajiv Kumar and Anup Chandra Pandey.

Earlier in August 2019, Pandey had served as the Chief Secretary of Uttar Pradesh under Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath. Also, he has served as the Infrastructure and Industrial Development Commissioner of the state.

Also Read: UP’s Chief Secretary transfers 25 IAS officers