Lok Saha Election Results 2019: Narendra Modi becomes PM second time in a row with landslide victory

PM Narendra Modi

After a landslide victory in the Lok Sabha elections 2019 by coming to power in over 350 seats, BJP comes to power second time in a row with full majority. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, along with the BJP national President Amit Shah met the party veterans LK Advani and Murali Manohar Joshi on Friday morning prior to the cabinet meeting.

The indication of BJP’s return was clear from the exit polls and was confirmed with the commencement of the counting of votes by the Election Commission of India on Thursday morning.
Leaders across the world congratulated Narendra Modi post the victory.

Other heavy weight candidates like Smriti Irani and Amit Shah have also won from their respective constituencies with a high margin. Smriti Irani has emerged victorious in Amethi, the Congress bastion against Rahul Gandhi, Congress President. Modi has won in the Varanasi constituency with a margin of 4.79 lakh votes.

However, the party could not have a stronghold in the states of Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Andhra Pradesh where DMK, INC and YSRCP have won in full majority.

On the other hand, BJP has claimed a strong position in the states of West Bengal, Odisha, Maharashtra and Karnataka. Even in Telangana, BJP has won four seats against Telangana Rashtra Samiti out of the total 17 seats of the state.

The states like Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan saw BJP win over 50 percent seats.