Government Movements

Uttar Pradesh CM expands the council of ministers

Views: 1.9K
Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath expanded his council of ministers on Wednesday with 23 MLAs taking oath as ministers at the Raj Bhawan in the presence of Governor Anandiben Patel.

This is the first reshuffle in the two-and-a-half year old BJP government in the state.

Out of the 23 MLAs, six were given the rank of cabinet ministers in what was the first major reshuffle in the Yogi Adityanath led BJP government of Uttar Pradesh.

Six Cabinet ministers, six Ministers of State with Independent charge and 11 Ministers of State constitute the 23 newly-inducted ministers who took the oath of office and secrecy on Thursday.

According to sources, the names of new ministers were finalised after hectic deliberations between Yogi Adityanath, state BJP organisational secretary Sunil Bansal and UP BJP Chief Swatantra Dev Singh at the chief minister’s official residence in Lucknow.

Names of all the new Cabinet ministers, State ministers with independent charge and the remaining State ministers of Uttar Pradesh government are given below:

Cabinet Ministers

  • Dr. Mahendra Singh
  • Suresh Rana
  • Bhupendra Singh Chaudhary
  • Anil Rajbhar
  • Ram Naresh Agnihotri
  • Kamla Rani Varun

State ministers (Independent Charge)

  • Neelkanth Tiwari
  • Kapil Dev Agarwal
  • Satish Dwivedi
  • Ashok Katariya
  • Sri Ram Chauhan
  • Ravindra Jaiswal

State ministers

  • Anil Sharma
  • Mahesh Gupta
  • Anand Swaroop Shukla
  • Vijay Kashyap
  • Dr Giriraj Singh Dharmesh
  • Lakhan Singh Rajput
  • Neelima Katiyar
  • Chaudhary Udaybhan Singh
  • Chandrika Prasad Upadhyay
  • Ramashankar Singh Patel
  • Ajeet Singh Pal

Ahead of the cabinet expansion, several senior ministers resigned to make way for the new entrants.

State BJP president and Transport Minister Swatantra Dev Singh had sent his resignation to the CM on Monday while Finance Minister Rajesh Agarwal had put in his papers on Tuesday.

Other ministers who also who resigned were Anupama Jaiswal, Mukut Bihari Verma, Chetan Chauhan and Swati Singh.

It was found later that the resignations of five Uttar Pradesh Cabinet Ministers – Transport Minister Swatantra Dev Singh, Finance Minister Rajesh Agarwal and other ministers Dharampal Singh, Archana Pandey and Anupama Jaiswal have been accepted.

According to sources, BJP top brass played a role in easing out these ministers owing to their poor or average performance in their two-and-a-half-year tenure.

The cabinet reshuffle was to happen on Monday but was postponed on account of the critical health of former Union Minister Arun Jaitley.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video

Eletsonline News
Eletsonline News

Latest News

To Top