e-Governance News

Centre appoints JB Mohapatra as Chairman, CBDT

Views: 495
JB Mohapatra

The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet, on September 1, gave approval to the appointment of senior Indian Revenue Service (IRS) – Income Tax officer Jagannath Bidyadhar Mohapatra as the Chairman, Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT). Mohapatra is currently serving as a member of the board that frames the policy for the Income Tax department.

The government notification for his appointment said, “The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet has approved the appointment of Shri J.B. Mohapatra, IRS (IT:85031), Member, Central Board of Direct Taxes as Chairman, Central Board of Direct Taxes.”

Since the extended tenure of the incumbent CBDT Chairman PC Mody ended on May 31, Mohapatra has been holding the additional charge of the Board. PC Mody, an IRS officer of 1982-Batch was assigned the charge of CBDT Chairman in February 2019.

Also Read: Cabinet’s Committee approves inter-cadre deputation of 4 IAS officers

Earlier, Mohapatra was appointed as Principal Chief Commissioner of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana region. The Chairman is the head of CBDT and has six members of the Board. All of these six members are officers are of the rank of special secretary.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video

Eletsonline News
Eletsonline News

Latest News

To Top