RS Sharma to head empowered committee for COVID-19 vaccine administration

RS Sharma

The Government of India has appointed RS Sharma as the Chairperson of an empowered committee for the administration of COVID-19 vaccine. The empowered committee is a 10-member team comprising of some senior officials from the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare (MoH&FW) and the Unique Identification Authority of India. As per a government notification, the committee is allowed to invite eminent persons as and when required for delivery of the COVID-19  vaccine through Co-WIN app.

Also, Sharma has been made the member of the National Expert Group of Vaccine Administration of COVID-19 that was formed in August 2020 and is headed by VK Paul, a NITI Aayog member.

Also Read: CoWIN app to aid govt in managing vaccination drive in India

As reported by a national daily, RS Sharma, the former TRAI Chief, was the first person to raise discussions on vaccination delivery in the government in the summer of 2020 when the pandemic peaked.

Also Read: MoHFW to repurpose eVIN to ensure last-mile delivery of COVID vaccine: Dr Harsh Vardhan

Also Read: MoHFW releases guidelines & advisory for COVID-19 vaccination