Anupam Singh Gehlot

In line with the ongoing code of conduct for the Lok Sabha elections, the Gujarat government executed a significant reshuffle, promoting and transferring 35 Indian Police Service (IPS) officers. The rearrangement, effective as of Sunday, saw the appointment of new police commissioners in key cities such as Surat and Vadodara.

Anupam Singh Gehlot, who previously served as Vadodara’s police commissioner, has been reassigned to the same role in Surat. Meanwhile, Narashima Komar, the Additional Director General of Police (Administration) based in Gandhinagar, has succeeded Gehlot in Vadodara.

Furthermore, several notable promotions were announced, including Manoj Agarwal, K L N Rao, G S Malik, and Hasmukh Patel, who have been elevated from Additional Director General to Director General of Police rank. Despite their promotions, they will retain their current responsibilities, as stated in the government’s directive.

The overhaul also includes the appointment of 20 IPS officers to higher positions within the state’s law enforcement hierarchy. Notably, Chirag Koradia, previously awaiting posting, has been designated as Inspector General (IG) of Police for the Border Range, while J R Mothaliya assumes the role of IG for the Ahmedabad range.

Prem Vir Singh has been assigned the position of IG for the Surat Range. Other changes include Tarun Duggal, formerly the deputy commissioner of Police for Zone 7 in Ahmedabad city, who has been named Superintendent of Police for Mehsana, and Om Prakash Jat, the current Anti-Terrorist Squad SP, who will now serve as the Ahmedabad Rural SP.

These changes come ahead of the Lok Sabha polls scheduled for May 7, which will see voting across all 26 parliamentary constituencies in Gujarat.


Be a part of Elets Collaborative Initiatives. Join Us for Upcoming Events and explore business opportunities. Like us on Facebook , connect with us on LinkedIn and follow us on Twitter, Instagram.

Related Government Transfers