Government Movements

Maharashtra Government appoints Ashish Kumar Singh as Additional Chief Secretary

Views: 3.2K
Ashish Kumar Singh apponted as Additional Chief Secretary of Maharashtra Government

Under the Uddhav Thackeray-led Government of Maharashtra, the 1988-Batch officer Ashish Kumar Singh took the charge as Additional Chief Secretary to the Chief Minister recently.

General Administration Department (GAD) of the state issued an order stating the change in the administrative duty of Singh. As per the order Singh who is already the head of the state’s transport department, will take charge as the Additional Chief Secretary to the Chief Minister additionally until further notice. However, permanency of the transfer has not been ruled out yet, as per the state’s secretariat.

The order from the GAD arrived post the leave application of Bhushan Gagrani (1990 – batch), who has taken two-weeks’ leave for vacations till 24 February 2020. Gagrani was previously appointed as Principal Secretary to the CM.

As per the state government, Gagrani would possible be transferred to another post in return as the department has not issued any specific order to relieve the IAS officer from his current post.

The 1990-Batch officer has earlier served as Secretary to the former Chief Minister, Devendra Fadnavis, whereas, Ashish Kumar Singh has formerly served as the Principal Secretary to the CM during Prithviraj Chavan-led government.

Moreover, the state administration has handed over the Department of Industries and Cultural Affairs to B Venugopal Reddy (1994-Batch), who is presently Forest Secretary, as an additional charge. And, the Department of Cultural Affairs has been handed over to present Medical Education Secretary of the state Sanjay Mukherjee additionally. Gagrani had the charge of the two departments earlier.

Further looking at the bureaucratic shift, Thackeray appointed R B Bhosale, a 2008-Batch officer as the Additional Divisional Commissioner (Pune), while the 2007-Batch IAS officer A K Dongre was given the charge as the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Shirdi-based Shri Sai Baba Sansthan Trust. Abhijeet Bangar (2008-Batch) became the new Textile Director, Maharashtra State Electricity Distribution Company (Kalyan) got GM Bodke (2010-Batch) as its new director, and Dr Leena Bansod became the CEO of Nashik Zilla Parishad.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video

Eletsonline News

Latest News

To Top