Government Movements

Prime Minister to set up committee to explore One Nation, One Election proposal possibility

Views: 1.2K
‘One Nation, One Election’

Prime Minister Narendra Modi conducted meeting on ‘One Nation, One Election’ proposal on Wednesday, in which he suggested setting up committee to explore the possibility of holding simultaneous Lok Sabha and Assembly elections.

The party members and leaders who attended the meeting included Nitish Kumar (JDU), Sukhbir Badal (Shiromani Akali Dal), Sharad Pawar (Nationalist Congress Party), Sitaram Yechury (Communist Party of India Marxist), D Raja (Communist Party of India), Naveen Patnaik (Biju Janta Dal), Jagan Reddy (YSRCP), KT Rama Rao (Telangana Rashtra Samithi), Conrad Sangma (National People’s Party), Mehbuba Moofti (People’s Democratic Party) and Farooq Abdullah (Jammu & Kashmir National Conference).

According to Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, most of the parties favoured the proposal. The final decision will be taken by consensus. The Prime Minister mentioned that all parties will be taken into confidence before taking a final decision.

The party leaders who have not favoured the proposal include Yechury and D Raja. According to Yechury, the move is anti-federal and is against the accountability of the governments. On the other hand, D Raja said the proposal was “impractical and unconstitutional” and would need major constitutional changes.

On the other hand, Pawar mentioned that the proposal might be time consuming in implementation. Mufti and Abdullah shared the possible challenges that the idea is likely to face. Rao suggested a detailed analysis before arriving at a decision.

Also Read: JP Nadda appointed BJP working president

Singh was quoted by a national daily as, “The PM will form the committee to look into possibilities of simultaneous polls. Exact nature of the committee will be made public later.” He also stated that the committee will give its suggestions on the subject in a time-bound manner.

The parties and leaders who did not attend the meeting were Rahul Gandhi (Congress), Mamata Banerjee (Trinamool Congress), Mayawati (Bahujan Samaj Party), Akhilesh Yadav (Samajwadi Party), MK Stalin (Dravida Munnetra Kazhagham), Uddhav Thackeray (Shiv Sena) and Arvind Kejriwal (Aam Aadmi Party).

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video

Eletsonline News
Eletsonline News

Latest News

To Top