Government Movements

Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh and Nirmala Sitharaman to hold crucial portfolios of Home, Defence and Finance

Views: 1.4K
Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh and Nirmala Sitharaman to hold crucial portfolios of Home, Defence and Finance

Announcing the portfolios for the Cabinet ministers of Friday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi allotted the three crucial ministries of Home, Finance and Defence to Amit Shah, Nirmala Sitharaman and Rajnath Singh respectively.

Debuting as Union Minister, Amit Shah would take over the Home Ministry from Rajnath Singh, who held the portfolio in the previous term. On the other hand, Rajnath Singh would take over the ministry of Defence from Nirmala Sitharaman, who has been allotted the Ministry of Finance and Corporate Affairs.

Former Uttarakhand Chief Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’ has been named the Union Minister of Human Resource Development, who will take over the post from Prakash Javadekar, who has been given the portfolio of Environment, Forest and Climate Change; and Information and Broadcasting.

Dr Harsh Vardhan is the Health Minister for Modi Government’s second term. He has taken over the position from Jagat Prakash Nadda. In the second term, Nadda has not been included in the Cabinet Ministry. Along with the health ministry, he will also hold the ministries of Science and Technology and Earth Sciences.

Smriti Zubin Irani would continue to hold the Ministry of Textile with additional portfolio of Women and Child Development.

Nitin Gadkari, the Minister of Road Transport and Highways will continue to head the portfolio along with the Ministry of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises.

Dr Subrahmanyam Jaishankar, the former Foreign Secretary of India has been named the Minister of External Affairs. He has taken over the ministry from Sushma Swaraj, who is not a part of the Modi Government 2.0.

Piyush Goyal has been made the Minister of Railways and Commerce and Industry, which he has taken over from Suresh Prabhu, who is not the part of Cabinet Ministry for Modi Government’s second term.

Arjun Munda, who has also debuted in the Union Ministry along with Amit Shah and Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’, has been named the Minister of Tribal Affairs.

The other Union ministers and their portfolios are given in the table below.

Cabinet Ministers Portfolio
DV Sadananda Gowda Minister of Chemicals and Fertilizers
Ram Vilas Paswan Minister of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution
Narendra Singh Tomar Minister of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare;
Minister of Rural Development; and
Minister of Panchayati Raj
Ravi Shankar Prasad Minister of Law and Justice;
Minister of Communications; and
Minister of Electronics and Information Technology
Harsimrat Kaur Badal  Minister of Food Processing Industries
Thaawar Chand Gehlot  Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment
Dharmendra Pradhan  Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas; and
Minister of Steel
Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi  Minister of Minority Affairs
Pralhad Joshi  Minister of
Parliamentary Affairs;
Minister of Coal; and
Minister of Mines
Dr Mahendra Nath Pandey  Minister of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship
Arvind Ganpat Sawant  Minister of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprise
Giriraj Singh  Minister of Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries
Gajendra Singh Shekhawat  Minister of Jal Shakti

The Prime Minister has also introduced Ministry of Jal Shakti in his second term of governance. The portfolio has been assigned to Gajendra Singh Shekhawat, Member of Parliament from Jodhpur, who defeated son of Rajasthan chief minister Ashok Gehlot.

Veteran leaders missing in Modi 2.0

Some of the prominent names which did not make their place in the list of Cabinet Ministers are Sushma Swaraj from the Ministry of External Affairs, JP Nadda from the Ministry of Health and Suresh Prabhu from the Ministry of Commerce.

Arun Jaitley had opted out from the government of 2019-24 citing health reasons.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video

Eletsonline News
Eletsonline News

Latest News

To Top