Central Government

In a series of notifications released on Friday, significant appointments and extensions in various government departments were disclosed.

Check List:

Angshuman Dey Takes on Additional Responsibility: Angshuman Dey (IFoS: 1997: TR) has been appointed Secretary of the North Eastern Council Secretariat and Joint Secretary in the Ministry of Development of the North Eastern Region. His new charge is effective from February 17, 2024.

Sugata Ghosh Dastidar Assumes New Role: Sugata Ghosh Dastidar (IDAS: 1987) has been designated as the Financial Adviser (Defence Services) in the Ministry of Defence, succeeding Rasika Chaube (IDAS: 1986) upon the conclusion of her contract on March 31, 2024. Dastidar previously served as the Controller General of Defence Accounts.

Faiz Ahmed Kidwai’s Tenure Extended: Faiz Ahmed Kidwai (IAS: 1996: MP), currently serving as Additional Secretary in the Department of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare, will continue as the Chief Executive Officer of the National Rainfed Area Authority (NRAA) for another year.

Extensions in Tenure: The tenure of Aravind Kumar Agrawal (CWES: 1997), Director at Mio Environment Forest and Climate Change, has been extended until February 28, 2025. Similarly, Mahander Singh Yadav (ITS: 1997), Director in the Central Vigilance Commission, will continue his role for another two years until May 26, 2026.

Changes in Roles: Prashant Ranjan (IRS IT: 2007), previously serving as Director in the Ministry of Tourism, will now serve as Private Secretary to the Minister of State for Ports, Shipping & Waterways Shantanu Thakur.

New Director Appointments: Mrinalini Shrivastava (IPS: 2002: SK) has been appointed as the Director (Finance) of the National Disaster Management Authority, with a tenure until November 1, 2027. Amrit Agrahari (IRS IT: 2011) has also been appointed Deputy Secretary in the Department of Economic Affairs until July 9, 2026.

Also Read | Central Government Repatriates Three IAS Officers to Parent Cadre

CVO Appointments: Several officers have been appointed as Chief Vigilance Officers (CVOs) for various organizations for an initial period of three years. Notable among them are Sudipta Acharjee (ITS: 1997) at Damodar Valley Corporation, Rahul Subhash Jagtap (ISS: 2000) at Rashtriya Chemicals and Fertilizers Ltd., and Bhavani Singh Yadav (ITS: 1997) at Employees’ Provident Fund Organisation.


Be a part of Elets Collaborative Initiatives. Join Us for Upcoming Events and explore business opportunities. Like us on Facebook , connect with us on LinkedIn and follow us on Twitter, Instagram.

Related Government Transfers