Massive administrative reshuffle in UP, 16 IAS Officers transferred

Govt of UP

Following the retirement of senior IAS officer Awanish Awasthi, the Uttar Pradesh government brought massive changes in administrative structures. In a late-night announcement, 16 IAS officers were reshuffled, with some key positions being filled.

Awanish Awasthi, who was handling the post of Additional chief secretary (ACS)home department before retirement, has been replaced by Sanjay Prasad who was, till now, the Principal Secretary of the chief minister. He will continue to serve in this position.

Himanshu Kumar, the principal secretary of Social and Minority welfare as well as the Muslim waqf department, is appointed as principal secretary of the Rural Development and Engineering department. He will be replaced by Monika S Garg, who was till now discharging her duty as Additional Chief Secretary, higher education department. Parth Sarthi Sharma, who was kept in waiting, has been appointed as Principal Secretary, Health and Family welfare department. He will replace Mahesh Kumar Gupta, who is appointed as Additional Chief Secretary in the Energy department. Dr. Hari Om, who was handling the post of Principal Secretary, General Administration department, has been transferred and given the twin responsibility of Principal Secretary, Social Welfare Department and Director, Tribal development.

Kalpana Awasthi, who was Principal Secretary, Sports and Village Engineering department has been appointed as Principal Secretary of the Honourable Governor of the state. He is replaced by Navneet Kumar Sehgal, who was till now, discharging his duty as Additional Chief Secretary of KVIC, MSME, Export Promotion, Information and Communication, as well as the Textile Department. While Mukesh Kumar Meshram who is the Principal Secretary, Tourism and Cultural Department, has been given the additional responsibility of Religious Affairs department. Arvind Kumar who is Commissioner as well as Principal Secretary, Infrastructure and Industrial development, IT & Electricals, and NRI department has been given the additional charge of Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of UPEIDA and UPSA.

Also Read | UP government transfers 12 IAS officers, Vipin Kumar Jain made Special Secretary, Mining Department

Rajesh Kumar, who was Principal Secretary, Horticulture and Food Processing department, has been made Managing Director Prisons, and Principal Secretary, Prison Administration and Reform Service. While Manoj Kumar, who is handling the Panchayati Raj department has been given the additional responsibility of Horticulture and Food Processing Department. He is also serving as commissioner of Agriculture’s produce department. Sudheer Mahadeo Bobde who was a member of the Revenue Council has been transferred to the Higher Education Department as its Principal Secretary.

Deepak Kumar who was serving as principal secretary of the basic education department has been given the additional responsibility of the principal secretary, secondary education department. He will replace Aradhana Shukla who has been made upper chief secretary, Department of Aayush.

The Yogi Adityanath government has been making major changes in administration in the last couple of months. The overnight transfer order was a continuation in this regard.