Lok Sabha Elections 2019: 1.5 crore voters to cast votes for 91 seats in first phase

Views: 1.4K
Lok Sabha Elections 2019

The Election Commission of India (ECI) is all set to conduct the Lok Sabha Elections 2019 from tomorrow. To be conducted in seven phases, the first phase elections will be held on 11 April in 18 states and two Union Territories.

The next phases of the 17th Lok Sabha Elections are scheduled on 18 April, 23 April, 29 April, 6 May, 12 May and 19 May.  The result will be declared on 23 May.

The states and UTs which will go on polls in the first phase are Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Odisha, Sikkim, Telangana, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, West Bengal, Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Lakshadweep.

As many as 1279 candidates are contesting the election in the first phase out of 91 seats. In a first, two women candidates are contesting the elections in Arunachal Pradesh and Mizoram.

Out of approximately nine crore total voters of the General Elections 2019, approximately 1.5 crore (142,054,978) would cast their votes in the first phase polls, making it the third biggest in terms of Lok Sabha seats. Uttar Pradesh has recorded the highest number of voters, which is 1,44,061,892. Sikkim is the state with the lowest number voters (4,23,167). As many as 7764 third gender voters will cast ballots on Thursday.

The states of Arunachal Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram and Odisha have a higher number of female voters as compared to their male counterparts.

More than 1.70 lakh polling booths have been set up across the 20 states and UTs for the first phase elections.

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Timings of First Phase

The voting process will commence at 7 am in all the constituencies. However, the polling process end time may vary from 3 pm to 6 pm in certain areas. In most of the constituencies, the voting process will get over at 6 pm.

According to the ECI, in left-wing extremism affected areas and north east States the timings vary from 7 am to 5 pm, 7 am to 4 pm and 7 am to 3 pm.

In Andhra Pradesh, voting will take place between 7 am to 6 pm except for Araku Lok Sabha seat, where votes will be cast in Kurupam, Parvathipuram, Sailur, Rampachodovaram constituencies, between 7 am to 5pm. In Araku seat, Araku Valley and Paderu, voting will be held between 7 am to 4 pm.

In Uttarakhand, voting will take place from 7 am to 5 pm. Among the north-east states of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram, Sikkim and Tripura West will be conducted from 7 am to 5 pm, whereas Outer Manipur, Nagaland and Meghalaya will go to polls between 7am and 4pm.

Urging the citizens of India, Vice President M Venkhaiah Naidu said, “I would urge each one of our citizens to exercise this precious right to make their opinion count and elect the representatives who have the 4 positive characteristics or 4Cs, as I call it: character, calibre, competence and conduct they wish to see in these public representatives. This is not only your right but your responsibility to not let the moment pass. It is a moment that comes only once in five years. ”

The ECI had announced the schedule for the General Elections 2019 on 10 March. According to Sunil Arora, Chief Election Commissioner of India, this year, around 1.5 crore voters are in the age group of 18 to 19 years. The total number of Lok Sabha seats across the country is 543. Around 10 lakh polling stations have been set up across the country.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video

Eletsonline News
Eletsonline News

Latest News

To Top