Government Movements

Deepak Gupta, retd IAS officer, appointed new UPSC chief

Views: 4.9K

Deepak Gupta

Deepak Gupta, former IAS officer, has been appointed as new chairman of UPSC.  The government has thus moved away from the tradition of appointing the chief from the serving members of the Commission. Gupta, a retired IAS officer of Jharkhand cadre, is the younger brother of former Home Secretary Madhukar Gupta.

As per convention, a UPSC chief is appointed from among the members of the Commission. It is for the first time that somebody from outside has been appointed as the UPSC chairperson.

This time it was the turn of former Madhya Pradesh cadre IAS officer, Alka Sirohi, who is already working as member in the Commission, to become the chairperson.

The UPSC is headed by a chairman and 10 members. Besides Sirohi, academician David R Syiemlieh, retd IFS officer Manbir Singh, former CBI Director Amar Pratap Singh, former Navy Vice Chief DK Dewan, ex-Railway Board Chairman Vinay Mittal, educationists P Kelimsungla and Hem Chandra Gupta, and former IAS officer Chhatar Singh are members of the Commission.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video

Eletsonline News
Eletsonline News

Latest News

To Top