Raju Sharma, has been posted as Mission Director (Joint Director rank), in the Department of Science and Technology, Tech Info Forecasting and Assessment CI (TIFAC), under the Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of India. He is 1982 batch Indian Administrative Services (IAS) officer of the Uttar Pradesh cadre.

Dr. Duvuri Subbarao takes charge as the new Reserve Bank of India (RBI) Governor. Dr. Subbarao replaces Dr. YV Reddy. He held the post of Finance Secretary in the Ministry of Finance. Prior to this, he was Secretary, Department of Economic Affairs in the Ministry of Finance. He belongs to the 1972 batch, IAS officer of Andhra Pradesh cadre. Dr. Subbarao has wide experience on issues in public finance and has held important posts in this area.

Kiran Dhingra, Director General Shipping has been posted as Secretary, Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation (HUPA) in Government of India, (GOI).

She is an IAS officer of the Arunachal Pradesh-Goa-Mizoram and Union Territories (AGMUT) cadre and belongs to the 1975 batch. She is replacing H.S.Anand (IAS of Haryana cadre from 1973  batch) who retired on August 31, 2008.

S. Jayaraman has been made the Member, Central Electricity Regulatory Commission (CERC) in Delhi. Indian Minister of Power Sushilkumar Shinde administered the Oath of Office and Secrecy to S. Jayaraman. He woked for more than 20 years in the mining and power sector and retired as Chairman and Managing Director of Neyveli Lignite Corporation in May 2008.

Sanjay Singh, presently Additional Secretary in the Ministry of External Affairs, has been appointed as the next Ambassador of India to Iran.

M L Kumawat, Special Secretary, Home, will be the new Director General of the Border Security Force (BSF). He is 1972 batch  India Police Services (IPS) officer of Andhra Pradesh cadre. Kumawat succeeds A K Mitra, who is retiring on September 30, 2008.

P K Misra, former Secretary of Union Agriculture Ministry, has taken charge as the Chairman of Gujarat Electricity Regulatory Commissioner (GERC). Misra is a  retired IAS officer from 1972 batch.

T Nanda Kumar is the new Secretary, Agriculture, Ministry of Agriculture. He was earlier Secretary, Food and Public Distribution since July 2006. Nanda Kumar is an IAS officer of 1972 batch, Jharkhand cadre. He has wide experience in the areas ranging from agriculture and food to urban development, textiles, mines, commerce and industry.

D S Kolamkar, Economic Advisor, in the Department of Consumer Affairs has been appointed Member of the Forward Markets Commission. He will replace Kewal Ram.

M L Sharma, Special Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI), Director, has been posted as the new Central Information Commissioner. He is an IPS officer from 1972 batch, Rajasthan cadre.

Suchitra Goswami has joined as Deputy Secretary in the Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India. She is 1989 batch Central Staffing Scheme (CSS) officer.

S K Poddar has been elected as the Chairman of Texmaco Ltd, a K K Birla group company. The position was left vacant after the sudden demise of K K Birla. Poddar was an Executive Vice-Chairman in the company prior to this election.

Rohit Mody joins Suzlon, makers of wind mills for power generation. Rohit Mody, who has quit Larsen and Toubro, is an ex-1985 batch Manipur-Tripura cadre IAS officer.

S S Raman has been appointed as the new President of MAIT, the apex body representing India’s IT hardware, training and R&D services sectors. He was the President and CEO of TVS-E Servicetec Ltd. S S Raman is an industry veteran, with in-depth exposure to various aspects of the manufacturing industry, he is immensely respected in the industry circles for his incisive vision and astute knowledge.

Ravi Swaminathan is appointed as the Vice President, MAIT for the term 2008-09.


Be a part of Elets Collaborative Initiatives. Join Us for Upcoming Events and explore business opportunities. Like us on Facebook , connect with us on LinkedIn and follow us on Twitter, Instagram.

Related News