e-Governance News

Four South Asian countries to cooperate for ICT connectivity

Views: 924

Senior officials from Bangladesh, Bhutan, India and Nepal have agreed to collaborate on a subregional ICT project to improve connectivity among the four countries.

The proposal from South Asia Subregional Economic Cooperation (SASEC) was reached at the fourth ICT working group meeting to discuss the proposed SASEC Information Highway Project in New Delhi, India on 8-9 October 2007. This is the first multi-country project, supported by the Asian Development Bank (ADB). The SASEC Information Highway Project consists of three key components. It will establish the SASEC regional network to integrate member countries and reduce Internet costs, particularly for the land-locked countries of Bhutan and Nepal. The project will also build the SASEC village network to expand broadband wireless connectivity to rural communities and enable them to better access services like tele-medicine, distance learning, and e-government services.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video

Eletsonline News

Latest News

To Top