Global Alliance for ICT and Development announces members list

Views: 933

The Global Alliance for Information and Communication Technologies (ICT) and Development, a new initiative of UN Secretary-General Kofi Annan to promote effective use of ICT for development, announced the members of its Steering Committee and Strategic Council for the first year, in view of its inaugural meeting on 19-20 June in Kuala Lumpur.

The Steering Committee, which provides the Alliance with executive oversight and guidance, will be chaired by Craig Barrett, Chairman of the Board of Intel Corporation, and will comprise nine Co-chairs representing major constituencies.  Members include Walter Fust, Director General, Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation; Datuk Seri Jamaludin Jarjis, Malaysia's Minister for Science, Technology and Innovation; Yoshio Utsumi, Secretary-General, International Telecommunication Union (ITU); and Titi Akinsanmi, Global Teenager Project, SchoolNet Africa  (full list at  The members for Strategy Council are John Chambers, Chairman, CISCO; Thomas Ganswindt, President/CEO, Siemens; Guy-Olivier Segond, President, Digital Solidarity Fund; Michael Nelson, Programme Director, Internet Technology, IBM; and Pamela Passman, Vice President of Global Corporate Affairs, Microsoft. 

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video

Eletsonline News

Latest News

To Top