India honour 5 Bharat Ratna this year, Check details

Bharat Ratna

In a significant announcement on February 9, Prime Minister Narendra Modi revealed the distinguished recipients of the Bharat Ratna, India’s highest civilian honour. Former Prime Ministers PV Narasimha Rao and Chaudhary Charan Singh, alongside agricultural scientist MS Swaminathan, have been named as this year’s honorees. This announcement comes after former Bihar chief minister Karpoori Thakur and former deputy prime minister Lal Krishna Advani were previously disclosed as awardees of the prestigious honour.

Karpoori Thakur (Posthumous): Bihar’s revered former chief minister and socialist leader, known as the ‘Jan Nayak,’ will be posthumously honoured as the 49th recipient of the Bharat Ratna.

Lal Krishna Advani: A stalwart of the Bharatiya Janata Party and former deputy prime minister, Advani’s contributions to Indian politics and leadership within the party were acknowledged with the Bharat Ratna.

Pamulaparthi Venkata Narasimha Rao (Posthumous): The ex-Prime Minister, who played a pivotal role in economic reforms during his term from 1991 to 1996, will be posthumously conferred with the Bharat Ratna.

Chaudhary Charan Singh (Posthumous): Recognized for his significant role in anti-Congress politics, the former Prime Minister from western Uttar Pradesh will be posthumously awarded the Bharat Ratna.

Mankombu Sambasivan Swaminathan (Posthumous): A pioneering agronomist, Swaminathan, known for revolutionising Indian agriculture, will posthumously receive the Bharat Ratna for his substantial contributions to the welfare of farmers.

The last Bharat Ratna was conferred in 2019 to Pranab Mukherjee and posthumously to Bhupendra Kumar Hazarika and Nanaji Deshmukh. Notably, no awards were given between 2020 and 2023. The Bharat Ratna, established in 1954, is India’s highest civilian award, recognizing outstanding service and contributions to society.

The recommendations for the Bharat Ratna are made by the Prime Minister to the President, and this year’s awardees join an esteemed list of visionaries who have left an indelible mark on the nation.

"Exciting news! Elets eGov is now on WhatsApp Channels 🚀 Subscribe today by clicking the link and stay updated with the latest insights!" Click here!
Be a part of Elets Collaborative Initiatives. Join Us for Upcoming Events and explore business opportunities. Like us on Facebook , connect with us on LinkedIn and follow us on Twitter , Instagram.