Rajiv Kumar

The Ministry of Law and Justice, in a recent notification, announced that Rajiv Kumar has been appointed as the new Chief Election Commissioner of India with effect from 15 May 2022. He will take over the charge from the incumbent Chief Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra who retires from the post on 14 May 2022.

Also Read | Neeraj Thakur To Take Over As DGP, Andaman & Nicobar Islands: MHA

The 1984-Batch IAS officer, Kumar is presently serving the charge of Election Commissioner. He took over the post in September 2020. Kumar retired in February 2020 as Finance Secretary. He served in the government for over 30 years and worked in various capacities in the Centre and the States.


Be a part of Elets Collaborative Initiatives. Join Us for Upcoming Events and explore business opportunities. Like us on Facebook , connect with us on LinkedIn and follow us on Twitter, Instagram.

Related Government Transfers