Ahead of Polls, 8 IPS Officers Assigned New Postings in Punjab


In a recent bureaucratic reshuffle moved ahead of the polls, the Election Commission of India transferred and posted eight IPS officers across the State of Punjab to new posts.

  1. Gurinder Singh Dhillon (IPS 1997-Batch) has been transferred and appointed as Inspector General of Police (IGP), Crime. He will also hold the additional charge of IGP Technical Services.
  2. Mukhwinder Singh Chhina (IPS 1997-Batch) will take over the charge of IGP, Security.
  3. Jaskaran Singh (IPS 1998-Batch) has been shifted and assigned the charge of IGP, Punjab Armed Police, Jalandhar.
  4. Ajay Maluja (IPS) has been transferred and given the post of Additional Inspector General (AIG) of Police, GRP-II, Pb. Patiala.
  5. Rakesh Kaushal (IPS) will assume the post of Commandant, 3rd Commando Battalion, SAS Nagar.
  6. Virendra Paul Singh (IPS) has been given the post of AIG, Human Resource Department, Chandigarh and the additional charge of AIG, Security.
  7. Opinderjit Singh Ghuman (IPS) has been transferred and posted as Commandant, 27th Battalion, Punjab Armed Police, Jalandhar.
  8. Sukhpal Singh (IPS) has been made Superintendent of Police (SP), Special Protection Unit (CM Security).

Also Read: Punjab Govt assigns new charges to 3 IPS officers