Government Movements

Major bureaucratic rejig at Centre: 10 Secretaries from 12 departments transferred

Views: 2.2K
Government of india

As many as 10 Secretaries and 24 IAS officers have been promoted to the rank of Special Secretary and Additional Secretary by the Government of India on Friday. This bureaucratic reshuffle was put to effect in the departments of rural development, Information & Broadcasting (I&B) and Higher Education among others.

Ravi Mittal, 1986-Batch officer, of Bihar cadre, has been appointed as the Secretary of I&B ministry. He would take over the post from Amit Khare.

Khare, the 1985-Batch officer, has been transferred as the Secretary, Higher Education. He will also continue to hold the additional post of Secretary, School Education.

R. Subrahmanyam, 1985-Batch officer of Andhra Pradesh cadre has been transferred to the Department of Social Justice and Empowerment. Prior to this, he was serving as the Higher Education Secretary at the Ministry of Human Resource Development.

VP Joy (1987-Batch) has been appointed as the Secretary (Coordination) at the Cabinet Secretariat. He would be replacing Rajesh Bhushan (1987-Batch), who has been posted as the Secretary, Department of Rural Development.

Sunil Kumar, who is the Special Secretary of the Commerce Department, has been posted as the Secretary, Panchayati Raj Ministry.

Sushil Kumar has been appointed as the new Mines Secretary.

Praveen Kumar, who is at present the Special Secretary with the Ministry of New and Renewable Energy, will join as Secretary, Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship (MSDE). He would take over the post from K.P. Krishnan, who is set to retire on December 31, 2019.

Arun Goel and Kshatrapati Shivaji (1986-Batch, Maharashtra cadre) have been appointed as the Secretary in the Ministry of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises and the Department of Administrative Reforms and Public Grievances respectively.

Debasish Panda (1987-Batch, Uttar Pradesh cadre) has been promoted as Special Secretary in the Department of Financial Services. Prior to this, he was an additional secretary in the same department.

Rameshwar Prasad Gupta, 1987-Batch officer of Gujarat cadre has been promoted as the Special Secretary of NITI Aayog. At present he was an Additional Secretary at NITI Aayog.

Also Read: Centre deliberating over separate IAS and IPS cadre for Mizoram

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video

Eletsonline News

Latest News

To Top