e-Governance News

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: 15.79 crore voters to cast vote in Phase 2 across 12 states and UT

Views: 1.1K
Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 2

The second phase of Lok Sabha Election 2019 is being held on 18 April 2019. As many as 11 states and one Union Territory across India for a total of 96 seats are casting their votes in this phase.  Although the vote timing is from 7 am to 6 pm, there have been reports of EVM and VVPAT malfunctioning from some of the polling booths of Odisha, Assam and West Bengal.

In Tamil Nadu, all 39 seats were scheduled to go for polls on Thursday, but the constituency of Vellore was cancelled on Tuesday owing to the cash seizure from a DMK candidate’s residence.

Although the voting process in Tripura was scheduled for the second phase for its single constituency, it has been postponed to 23 April fearing law and order issue.

The state wise number of constituencies is given in the table below.

State Number of Seats
Assam 5
Bihar 5
Chhattisgarh 3
Jammu & Kashmir 2
Karnataka 14
Maharashtra 10
Manipur 1
Odisha 5
Tamil Nadu 38
Uttar Pradesh 8
West Bengal 3
Puducherry 1

As many as 9,117 booths have been set up across the country for the Phase 2 of Lok Sabha elections 2019. More than 1.81 lakh polling booths have been set up across the country.

Also Read: First phase voting saw highest turnout from Tripura

Over 1,600 total candidates are contesting and 15.79 crore electors are casting their votes in this phase. Out of the total electors, 8,02,60,815 are men, 7,76,62,567 women and 11,136 are transgenders.

The third phase of General Elections 2019 will be conducted on 23 April.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video

Eletsonline News

Latest News

To Top