Six years on, India gets its first Lokpal

Views: 1.6K
Six years on, India gets its first Lokpal

Six years on, India gets its first Lokpal President Ram Nath Kovind has appointed former Supreme Court judge Justice Pinaki Chandra Ghose as the chairperson of the first Lokpal, the national anti-corruption ombudsman, on Tuesday.

Along with Justice Ghose, eight members from judicial and non-judicial backgrounds have also been appointed.

The judicial members are Justice Dilip B. Bhosale, Justice Pradip Kumar Mohanty, Justice Abhilasha Kumari and Justice Ajay Kumar Tripathi.

The non-judicial members include Maharashtra Chief Secretary Dinesh Kumar Jain, retired IPS officer and ex-DG of Sashastra Seema Bal Archana Ramasundaram, retired IRS officer Mahender Singh and retired IAS officer Dr Indrajeet Prasad Gautam.

The Lokpal and Lokayukta Act was enacted in 2013 and received Presidential assent on January 1, 2014.

The Lokpal can inquire or initiate inquiry on any allegation related to corruption against current or former Prime Ministers, former ministers and MPs.

However, it cannot exercise this power in allegations of corruption related to international relations, external and internal security, public order, atomic energy and space.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video

Eletsonline News
Eletsonline News

Latest News

To Top