e-Governance News

RS Sharma appointed new TRAI Chairman

Views: 1.1K

rs_sharmaThe government appointed IT Secretary Ram Sewak Sharma as the new Chairman of the Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI) for a period of three years.

RS Sharma, a 1978 batch IAS officer of Jharkhand cadre, has played key role in rollout of Aadhaar project and designing the roadmap for Digital India programme.

Landmark Achievements

Some of the other major IT initiatives Sharma had been closely associated with are: Aadhaar-based Public Distribution System (PDS) in Jharkhand; ambitious Digital Locker project of DeiTY; revamping of MMPs; e-Bhasha – a platform to promote use of Indian languages in ICT; Mobile Seva – an initiative aimed to give boost to mobile governance in the country; MyGov.in – a digital platform to promote participative governance; Jeevan Praman – digital life certificate for pensioners; SMS-based weather alert system, .bharat domain in Gujarati and Bangla, apart from other languages; Time Stamping of Digital Signature; Integrated Indian Languages Virtual Keyboard for Android; PARAM Shavak (Super Computer in box solution); and Gyansetu – an internet-based real-time ICT system to provide e-Services to the rural population of India.

Besides, he is also closely associated with probably the world’s largest-ever Rs 113,000-crore project e-Kranti (E-revolution) under next phase of the National e-Governance Plan – NeGP 2.0. It will roll out broadband to all villages and digitise all records in government offices and shift them to the globally accessible online storage space using the Cloud Computing.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video

Eletsonline News
Eletsonline News

Latest News

To Top