India: Orissa Government to Roll Out 8558 Common Service Centres

The Government of Orissa (India) has signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) with three private operators to roll out 8558 Common Service Centres (CSCs) in the state. Those centres will be developed on build-own-operate (BOO) model for first five years.

Each gram panchayat will have at least one common service centre. Stringent service level agreement has been prescribed to ensure the service quality. These CSCs will deliver government to citizen (G2C) services like land records, registration, certificates, details of the government scheme, pension scheme, utility bill payments, road transport and employment exchange. The CSCs will also deliver Business to Consumer (B2C) services like typing, photography, Internet surfing, agri-information, railway and air ticketing and business to business (B2B) services like market research, surveys, rural BPO services, advertising , branding and promotions. Bangalore based CMS Computers Ltd, New Delhi-based Zoom Developers Private Ltd and the SREI Infrastructure Private Ltd. Have signed MoU with the Orissa Government to set up CSCs. As per the agreement, CMS Computers will set up 4962 CSCs in zone-I, II and V. Zoom Developers will set up 1314 CSCs in zone III and SREI Infrastructure Finance will set up 2282 CSCs in zone-IV and VI. The cost of setting up each Centre will be around INR. 3 to 4 lakhs. Each CSC will have computer, printer, digital camera, web cam, scanner, UPS and Internet connectivity. Under the Nation e- Governance Plan (NeGP), the Planning Commission has approved INR 1350 million. The Orissa Government will provide INR 5000 per month per centre to the developer in zone-VI consisting of Malkangiri, Koraput, Nawaranagpur, Kalahandi, Nuapada districts and Rs 1190 per centre every month in zone-III consisting of Angul, Keonjhar, Dhenkanal, Deogarh and Sundergarh districts.