e-Governance News

Maran releases CD containing e-Gov roadmaps of 15 states

Views: 880

The National Advisory Group on e-Governance held its first meeting at the Centre for e- Governance (India), under the Chairmanship of the Minister Communications & Information Technology, Dayanidhi Maran. On this occasion, Maran also released a CD containing the e-Governance Roadmaps of 15 states.

The meeting was attended by various representatives from the government, academia and industry, including Nandan Nilekani, Infosys, Kiran Karnik, Nasscom; Prof. Subhash Bhatnagar, IIM (Ahmedabad); Secretary DOT and DIT and IT secretaries of various State Governments. The Advisory Group has been set up as apart of the recently approved National e-Governance Plan (NeGP), to advise on policy issues and strategic intervention for speedy implementation of NeGP. Among the issues discussed were need for Departments to assume ownership of the projects, interoperability between diverse Government systems, and the need for localisation of e-Governance applications. The Group also advocated focus on capacity building, need for flexibility at local level for innovation and the involvement of civil society organisations and small and medium enterprises to ensure the percolation of the Plan. In addition to an emphasis on public service delivery within assured time frames, the Advisory Group highlighted the importance of transparency and accountability as key objectives of ICT-enabled governance.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video

Eletsonline News

Latest News

To Top