i4d Advisory Board Members’ Profile

Views: 1.1K

The advisory board members of i4d serve in an honorary capacity for a tenure of two years which may be extended for additional term. They provide advise on the operation of the servivces of i4d from a user perspective and act as a sounding board for ideas for new developments. While representing leading agencies and a wide network of stakeholders, they ensured that the services of i4d maintains its reputation as an independent source of high quality information. They also advise on ways to enhance outreach and impact. We are grateful to our global think tank who have provided their support to the growth of i4d.

MP Narayanan, Chairman, CSDMS
M. P. Narayanan, a mining professional having over 40 years of experience. He retired from public service as Chairman, Coal India Limited. He served as Chairman, Neyvelli Lignite Corporation Limited and Chairman, Environmental Appraisal Committee for Industries, Ministry Environment and Forests, Government of India. He is the Chairman of Centre for Science, Development and Media Studies.

Amitabha Pande, Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Government of India
Amitabha Pande, a graduate in English literature, joined the Indian Administrative Services in 1970s and served as Joint Secretary in Department of Science and Technology from 2000-2005. He has been instrumental in creating awareness about maps and development of National Spatial Data Infrastructure in India. Currently he serves as Principal Resident Commissioner, Government of Punjab.

Chin Saik Yoon, Southbound Publications, Malaysia
Chin Saik Yoon is chair of Orbicom’s research and publications committee. He is also the publisher and managing director of Southbound, a publishing house specialising in titles on development information and communication. He served on the advisory board of the World Communication and Information Report and has been involved in a number of regional and international ICT for development initiatives since the late 1980s.

Muhammed Yunus, Grameen Bank, Bangladesh
Muhammad Yunus is founder of the Grameen Movement. He was in the International Advisory Group for the Fourth World Conference on Women in Beijing from 1993 to 1995. He is on the boards of many international organisations including Amanah Ikhtiar Malaysia (a Grameen replication project), the International Rice Research Institute, Philippines, and Credit and Savings for the Poor, Malaysia. He has received numerous international and national awards.

Richard Fuchs, International Development Research Centre (IDRC), Canada
Richard Fuchs joined IDRC in January 2001 as Director of the Information and Communication Technologies (ICTs) for Development Programme Area. He was also the founder and CEO of the Enterprise Network Inc., a Crown corporation that established Canada’s first rural online and telecentre services. In 1996, he set up Futureworks, a firm specialising in the development of distance technology systems and services.

Karl Harmsen, Centre for Space Science and Technology Education in Asia and the Pacific, (CSSTEAP) India
Karl Harmsen was appointed on 23 April 2002 as Director of the Centre of Space Science Technology Education for Asia and the Pacific (CSSTEAP), which is located in Dehra Dun, India, on the campus of ITC’s sister institute, the Indian Institute of Remote Sensing.  Prior to that he was involved with a number of environmental and Remote Sensing organisations. From October 2005 he will join as Director of United Nations University

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video

Eletsonline News

Latest News

To Top