Chief Economist

Arvind Panagariya named Vice Chairman of Niti Aayog

Views: 461

ArvindPrime Minister Narendra Modi appointed Indian-American economist Arvind Panagariya as the first Vice Chairman of the Niti Aayog.

Born on September 30, 1952, Panagariya is a professor of economics at New York’s Columbia University, a former chief economist at Asian Development Bank and has also worked with International Monetary Fund, World Trade Organisation and World Bank.

Niti Aayog came into being on January 1 to replace the 65-year old Planning Commission.

The Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi, has made the following appointments to the NITI Aayog:

Full-Time Members
Shri Bibek Debroy, Economist
Dr. V.K. Saraswat, Former Secretary Defence R&D

Ex-officio members
Shri Rajnath Singh, Union Minister
Shri Arun Jaitley, Union Minister
Shri Suresh Prabhu, Union Minister
Shri Radha Mohan Singh, Union Minister

Special Invitees
Shri Nitin Gadkari, Union Minister
Shri Thawar Chand Gehlot, Union Minister
Smt. Smriti Zubin Irani, Union Minister



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Most Popular in a Week

eGov Magazine Digital

To Top