Three new faces in Karnataka cabinet

Views: 2.1K

Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah  has inducted three new faces into his council of ministers to fill the vacant slots.

At a ceremony held at Raj Bhavan, Governor Vajubhai Rudabhai Vala administered the oath of office and secrecy to HM Revanna, RB Thimmapur and Dr MC Mohan Kumari (Geetha Mahadeva Prasad).

Revanna and Thimmapur, both MLCs, were inducted as cabinet rank ministers and Mohan Kumari, a first time MLA, a a first time MLA, as Minister of State with independent charge.

With this expansion, the Chief Minister has filled three posts that were lying vacant following Home Minister G Parameshwara’s resignation on his continuation as Congress party’s state unit chief, Excise minister H Y Meti’s exit after an alleged scandal and the death of Cooperation minister Mahadev Prasad.

Mohan Kumari, popularly known as Geetha Mahadeva Prasad in political circles, had recently got elected from the Gundlupet constituency in the by-elections after the death of her husband H S Mahadeva Prasad, who was the cooperation minister.


Newly appointment ministers Revanna, Thimmapur and Mohan Kumai have been allotted the portfolios of Transport, Excise and Sugar and Small Industries respectively.

Ramalinga Reddy has been shifted from Transport to the key Home Ministry, Ramesh Jarkiholi has been given Cooperation and Labour Minister Santosh Lad the additional charge of skill development.

State ministers who have been promoted to cabinet rank include IT and BT Minister Priyank Kharge, Fisheries, Youth Empowerment and Sports Minister Pramod Madhwaraj, Municipal Administration Minister Eshwar Khandre and Muzrai Minister Rudrappa Lamant.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video

Eletsonline News

Latest News

To Top