i4d Awards 2007

CSDMS would like to extend a hearty congratulations to the winners. We commend the work done by each one of the winners and hope that the these projects find deserving emulation.

eINDIA 2007 Conference, which was held in Hotel Taj Palace, New Delhi, from July 31, 2007 to August 3, 2007,  concluded with the i4d Awards 2007 and Digital Learning Power School Award 2007 ceremony. The i4d Awards  were given during the valedictory session held on August 2, 2007.

After a hectic process of two rounds of deliberations, the i4d Award jury members were able to select seven nominations to be awarded in various categories. Seven ICT based projects from various parts of India and internationally bagged the i4d Awards for their substantial contributions in areas such as digital literacy, e-Governance, sustainable livelihoods, etc. The following were the winners of the i4d Award under three categories.

i4d Award for National Projects

NIC, Bihar: All India Society for Electronics and Computer Technology (AISECT), Madhya Pradesh; and  Kerala State IT Mission (Akshaya) were three winners in this category.

i4d Awards in the Overseas Category

Many a nominations were received from countries other than India. Among these Central Informatics Organization(CIO) -Govt. of Behrain, e Fusion Pvt. Ltd. – Sri Lanka, and GDCO -Sudan, were the three winners in this category.

Left to Right: H.E. Mohammed Al Amer, Preseident CIO, Govt. of Bahrain; Niranjan Meegammana, e Fusion Pvt. Ltd., Sri Lanka; Ms. Bela Diwan, Computer Teacher, Springdales School, New Delhi; Santosh Choubey, Director, AISECT; Ravi Gupta, Director, CSDMS; Ms. Simmi Kher, Head, Computer Dept., Springdales School; William D Dar, Director General, ICRISAT, India; Dr. M.P. Narayanan, President, CSDMS; Ahmed Mahmoud Mohamed Eisa, Chairman, GDCO, Sudan; Subhash Kuntia, Joint Secretary, Dept. of School Education and Literacy, Ministry of Human Resource Development. Govt. of India; Saurabh Gupta, State Informatics Officer, NIC Bihar, India; K. Anvar Sadath, Head, e-Krishi.
i4d Special Jury Award

Core Projects & Technologies Ltd: Our jury members selected the project by Core Projects and Technologies Ltd for their Project Monitoring Information (PMIS) and Child Tracking System (CTS), which were developed to facilitate the implementation of the Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan (SSA) in Jharkhand, India.

Prakash Gupta, CEO, Core Projects & Technologies Ltd., received the Special Jury Award in eINDIA 2007 Conference

Digital Learning Power School Award 2007

The Digital Learning Power School Award recognises innovative learning and teaching practices, and their practitioners in schools. To recognise and reward dedicated and progressive schools, our jury members had set certain criteria for selection, like the extent to which ICT innovation has resulted in practical outcomes, evidence of the ICT-enabled process being successfully integrated into the education process, and the extent to which the exercise has led to the improved motivation and performance. After a hectic  process, our jury members have selected Springdales School, Pusa Road, New Delhi as the Power School of this year, for demonstrating a strong commitment to innovative teaching and learning practices.Apart from the ICT projects for the ‘adjacent to school’ community like Swashakti, Mobile Computer Education, Twinning programme, Student Exchange programme, etc., the school has been reflecting the power of innovation, technology, and brilliance in other areas of teacher training, and curriculum integration.