July 2003

Awards: Prove yourself

Views: 409

            The Development Gateway's St. Petersburg PrizeThe St. Petersburg Prize recognizes exemplary contributions in the field of Information and Communication Technologies (ICT) for development work. It will be awarded for a significant contribution to an ICT for development success benefiting a large number of people. The degree of the success, the magnitude of the benefits, and the importance of the contribution to that success will all be taken into account. Benefits to the poor will be given priority.EligibilityThe Prize may be awarded to an individual or to an organization. For example, to:    The director of a project or program that was critical to the ICT for development success.    A government official or the leader of an advocacy group who led in developing or implementing policy changes critical to an ICT for development success.    A university program or department that provided leadership critical to the success.    An NGO that conducted a pilot or demonstration projects critical to the success.  Deadline for nominations is January 1, 2004. The Prize winner, whether an individual or organization will receive an 100,000 pounds to be awarded during the Development Gateway Forum, which will take place in 2004. www.devforum.org/prize            Stockholm Challenge Award  The Stockholm Challenge was initiated in 1994 by the City of Stockholm, and is run in conjunction with the European Commission. The Challenge  provides a common platform for innovative projects from all over the world to create networks of cooperation for the exchange of experience and knowledge. The aim is to diminish the digital divide and to create an information society for all. In 2002 nearly 600 projects from 78 countries entered  the Stockholm Challenge.Eligibility  The competition is open to private, public as well as academic contestants. The challenge invites contending projects in the following categories: egovernment, culture, health, education, e-Business and environment. The projects will be evaluated on the basis of four basic criteria: innovation, user need, transferability and accessibility. Every project is also evaluated in relation to its own economic, social and cultural context.The deadline for submission is November 1, 2003. The finalists will be announced on February 2, 2004 and all finalists projects will then be invited to the final event to take place in Stockholm in May 2004. www.challenge.stockholm.seICT Stories Competition 2003 – The Tony Zeitoun AwardIn order to acknowledge the importance of experiences and lessons learned in the field of Information and Communication Technologies for Development, infoDev & IICD agreed to start the ICT Stories project in 1998.  The prime objective of the Stories Competition is to capture and document the learning process that inherently accompanies the introduction and implementation of ICTs in a project through exemplary stories. In order to motivate ICT story owners to share their knowledge, IICD and infoDev launched this ICT stories competition. Based on a set of criteria, an internationally acclaimed ICT Stories jury selects the winning stories from a growing database. This year the Global Knowledge Partnership (GKP) will join infoDev and IICD to help spread learning and acknowledge practitioners in ICTs for development. Paying a tribute to the late Tony Zeitoun of CIDA, the awards for the ICT stories will be called “Tony Zeitoun Awards”.The first ” ICT stories Competition

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Most Popular in a Week

eGov Magazine Digital

To Top